Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan

Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?

Everybody loves Fruity Pebbles. But is it suitable for vegans as well?

Manufacturers often use animal-derived ingredients in cereals, despite the fact that we tend to think of cereal as vegan.

Fruity Pebbles are not vegan because they contain sheep’s wool vitamin D3. They also contain natural flavors, artificial colors, and sugar.

The following article will provide you with an overview of what Fruity Pebbles are made of and which ingredients don’t make them suitable for vegans. We also include some vegan alternatives for Fruity Pebbles if you’re upset that your favorite cereal isn’t vegan.

What Are Fruity Pebbles?

Rice cereal Fruity Pebbles has been on the market since the early 1980s. It is colorful and crispy, and both kids and adults enjoy it.

Over the years, purple, pink, and blue pebbles were added to the cereal. Originally, the cereal had only three colors: orange, red, and yellow.

The classic Fruity Pebbles are available in a variety of flavors, including Magic Fruity Pebbles, Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles, and Magic Fruity Pebbles.

Cocoa Pebbles, a non-fruity flavor, is also very popular, although Fruity Pebbles remains the most popular cereal in the U.S.

What Are Fruity Pebbles Made Of?

The name Fruity Pebbles would suggest that Fruity Pebbles contain some form of fruit. However, Fruity Pebbles do not contain fruit. Instead, the colors come from natural and artificial additives, and the sweetness comes from sugar.

Fruity Pebbles’ ingredient list is rather long, which isn’t the best thing for breakfast cereals.

The ingredients list on products can be intimidating for vegans because you never know what’s in them or how they are made! Plus, manufacturers sometimes change the formulation of their products.

These minor changes can be found on the box of Fruity Pebbles by checking the ingredients and nutrition facts.

The following are the main ingredients in Fruity Pebbles:

  • Cereals are typically made of different grains. Fruity Pebbles are made of rice – rice cereals are high in carbohydrates, making them not the healthiest choice.

  • The second ingredient in Fruity Pebbles is sugar. Avoid products with a high sugar content.

  • It is common for cereals to contain highly processed vegetable oils. In the case of Fruity Pebbles, it is canola oil.

  • As the brand doesn’t specify what natural and artificial flavors it uses, it’s impossible to tell if they’re animal-derived.

  • Turmeric Oleoresin is a natural coloring agent used in Fruity Pebbles along with artificial colors such as Red 40, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Blue 1, and Blue 2.

  • Fruity Pebbles contain BHT and BHA preservatives, which are some of the reasons they have such a long shelf life.

  • Vitamins and minerals are added to Fruity Pebbles, including vitamins B3, B6, B1, B2, B12, and D, as well as zinc and iron.

So, Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?

By looking at the ingredients, you might think Fruity Pebbles are vegan. We are sorry to disappoint you, but Fruity Pebbles are not vegan.

  • As a result of the added vitamin D3, Fruity Pebbles are not suitable for vegans. Synthetic vitamin D is derived from lanolin, which is a waxy substance derived from sheep’s wool.

  • In contrast to dietary vegans, ethical vegans do not consume any food obtained through the exploitation of animals. Sugar is one such ingredient that should be avoided by ethical vegans. 

    • It is common for sugar to be derived from either sugarcane or sugar beets. Although sugar from these sources looks and tastes the same, sugarcane sugar and sugar beet sugar are manufactured differently.

    • Beet sugar is vegan because it does not contain animal products. Cane sugar, on the other hand, is often refined using bone char, a black granular material derived from cattle bones.

    • Many sugar manufacturers use this method to refine their sugar. Fruity Pebbles’ company works with numerous sugar suppliers, so if you are all about ethical veganism, this is also worth considering.

  • In spite of the fact that Red 40 is not made from animal products, it is tested on animals from time to time, which is a deal-breaker for many vegans.

    • Animal tests are also conducted periodically on the other artificial colors used in Fruity Pebbles, including Yellow 5 and 6.

  • The term “natural flavors” is another red flag for vegans. Natural flavors are an umbrella term that can refer to flavors derived from animal products. If the product does not state that it is vegan, the chances are high that it is not.

Do Fruity Pebbles Contain Gelatin?

The ingredient gelatin makes many foods unsuitable for vegans and vegetarians, since it is produced by boiling down hides and bones of cows and pigs.

To improve the texture of cereals, gelatin is added as an emulsifier.

Despite Fruity Pebbles not being vegan, they are at least vegan-friendly since they do not contain gelatin.

Are Fruity Pebbles Good For You?

Breakfast cereals like Fruity Pebbles with milk are a fun way to start your day, but they’re not the healthiest.

Rice is one of the main ingredients in Fruity Pebbles. It’s not bad for you, but it’s also not very nutritious. Rice is high in carbs and low in nutrients.

The average serving size of Fruity Pebbles contains 12 grams of added sugars and 190 grams of sodium, as well as artificial additives and preservatives.

The occasional bowl of Fruity Pebbles won’t harm you if you’re not vegan. Just don’t overindulge.

Vegan Alternatives To Fruity Pebbles 

Your favorite breakfast cereal may not be vegan, but don’t worry. There are many options to choose from on the morning cereal market.

Our favorite vegan alternatives to Fruity Pebbles!

1. Weetabix Organic Whole Grain Cereal

Weetabix Organic Whole Grain Cereal

There is no doubt that Weetabix whole grain cereals are one of the healthiest cereals you can eat. The ingredient list is short and simple, which is always a good thing.

Organic whole wheat, organic barley malt extract, sea salt, and organic cane sugar are in this cereal. Since organic cane sugar is unrefined, it cannot be treated with animal products.

The wheat biscuits in Weetabix cereal are just as easy to eat once you pour milk over them as regular cereal.

There are only 180 calories in a serving size of Weetabix, which is three wheat biscuits, as well as 2 grams of added sugar.

2. Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch Cereal 

Cascadian Farm Organic Cinnamon Crunch Cereal

For those who like their cereal extra crunchy, Cascade Farm Organic Cereal is a great choice.

Organic whole-grain wheat, rice flour, sunflower oil, oat fiber, and organic cane sugar are the main ingredients of this cinnamon-flavored cereal.

This cereal is not particularly high in vitamins and minerals, so eat a bowl of fruits alongside it for a healthy and wholesome breakfast.

Featuring a gluten-free option, Cascadian Farm cereal is organic, climate pledge friendly, and GMO-free.

Buy on Amazon

3. Nature’s Path Optimum Powder Organic Cereal

Nature’s Path Optimum Powder Organic Cereal

The Nature’s Path Optimum Powder Organic Cereal, made with blueberries, cinnamon, and flax seeds, is a healthy and fruity alternative to Fruity Pebbles.

There are several ingredients in Nature’s Path organic cereal, including whole wheat meal, wheat bran, barley malt extract, soy flour, and soy fiber.

Whole wheat cereal contains 120 calories, 4 grams of fiber, and 5 grams of sugar per 30-gram serving.

A variety of flavors of Nature’s Path Organic Cereal are available, including Maple Pecan Crunch, Raisin Bran, Red Berry Crunch, and Pumpkin Raisin Crunch.

Buy on Amazon

Related Questions

Now that we’ve learned why Fruity Pebbles aren’t vegan, as well as some alternatives, here are some more questions we thought you might have!

Are Fruity Pebbles gluten-free?

A common question is whether Fruity Pebbles are gluten-free – and the answer is yes! As a rice cereal, Fruity Pebbles do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients.

Are Cocoa Pebbles vegan?

As with Fruity Pebbles, Cocoa Pebbles contain vitamin D3, which makes them unsuitable for vegans.

If you suffer from lactose intolerance, Cocoa Pebbles are dairy-free.

Are Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles vegan?

Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles contain added vitamin D3 as well as classic Fruity Pebbles.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *